Category Archives: Team

YUAA Cofounder Jan Kolmas Featured in Yale Scientific

Jan Kolmas ’14 was featured in the most recent issue of Yale Scientific. The article highlights Kolmas’ impressive accomplishments, ranging from cofounding YUAA in 2010 and participating in the Caltech Space Challenge to heading multiple Trumbull College IM sports and participating in Yale Club Swimming. Kolmas served as YUAA president during the last academic year and currently serves on the board as an advisor and mentor to other members.

Read the full article on the Yale Scientific website.

Jan Kolmas meets scientists from the Mars Science Laboratory at NASA and astronaut, Tom Jones at the 2012 Popular Mechanics Breakthrough Awards


YUAA featured in Physics Department newsletter

Yale Aerospace made it to the summer issue of the Yale Physics Department newsletter. The newsletter presents awards and recognition of undergraduate, graduate and faculty members as well as extracurricular groups. Yale Aerospace was featured regarding the launch of YSS Eli Whitney and other projects, alongside with other undergraduate groups such as the Yale Drop Team and Women in Physics.

Read the article on page 20:

YUAA becomes a SEDS chapter

Yale Aerospace joined the national community of space enthusiasts when it became a chapter of Students for Exploration and Development of Space – SEDS this summer. SEDS offers conferences, competitions and networking opportunities. We are excited to collaborate with students from other universities that share our interests.

New Executive Board Elected

On April 27th, members of the Yale Undergraduate Aerospace Association met in the Yale Center for Engineering Innovation and Design to elect the executive board for the 2013-2014 school year. Here are the results:

Permanent Positions:
Co-Presidents: Ari Brill and Jeff Gau
Finance Director: Kathy Gea
Public Relations Director: Austin Long

Project Leaders:
Rocket Propulsion: Megan Perkins
Rocket Deployed UAV: Thomas Ryan
Rocket Competition: Patrick Wilczynski
Quadcopter: Sam Anklesaria

Congratulations to the new board members!